2013, Manchester and, er, Gaudi

The Manchester project is underway. I ventured out the other Friday and took 211 photos in, principally, the Northern Quarter. These take some assessing and in some cases, a little photoshopping to correct some lighting deficiencies, as some of them were taken on canals, hemmed in by tall buildings.
I was pleased with the this initial trip; some of the ground I had covered before, but there were one or two streets that I had not ventured down before; angles I had not seen. There’s always something.
So I’m excited by this project as I hoped I would be. I hope I can carry you with me on this. The first set of prints are nearly ready, but in the meantime, I remembered I didn’t really complete the Gaudi posts that I started in the middle of last year. So, here, to keep you going, are some more of this great man’s work.

Look carefully, these are apartment windows. the farther down the stairwell, they are, the bigger the window...

Look carefully, these are apartment windows. the farther down the stairwell, they are, the bigger the window…

Door handle detail, beautiful

Door handle detail, beautiful

These are catenary arches. Tney underpin the roof of Casa battlo. These arches are immensely strong and sustain great weight.

These are catenary arches. They underpin the roof of Casa battlo. These arches are immensely strong and sustain great weight.

More catenary archwork

More catenary archwork

A beautifully crafted staircase up to the roof.

A beautifully crafted staircase up to the roof.

See what I mean?

See what I mean?

Gorgeous textures

Gorgeous textures

Beautiful workmanship

Beautiful workmanship

Barcelona

More detail - and the street below!!

More detail – and the street below!!

This is the famous Dragon Roof, of Casa Baittlo. look at the detailing of the tiles.

This is the famous Dragon Roof, of Casa Baittlo. look at the detailing of the tiles.

 

One response to “2013, Manchester and, er, Gaudi

Leave a Reply

